The Revista Iberoamericana de Derecho Procesal is of fundamental importance to the debate on procedural law issues of interest to the Ibero-American community.

The Journal, which once had as directors Juan Monroy Galvez and Roberto Omar Berizonce, has become the source of the most important studies of procedural law produced in Ibero-America.

The presence of members of the Institute in the international arena, specifically in the International Association of Procedural Law, as well as the quality of the articles published in the Journal, gave it the symbolic power of a showcase of the thought of Iberoamerican proceduralists.

In an era where ideas are more valuable than ever, a Journal that symbolizes the thought of a group of strong representation on the world stage must be treated in order to preserve the originality and stimulate the creativity of ideas, posting itself as a dissemination tool of a particular and important legal culture.

The Journal’s new phase, without neglecting its origins, encourages the deepening of procedural law studies that relate to the formation of the Ibero-American legal culture, particularly of Latin American in search of the “lost reasons” that gave rise to several ailments that are on the foundations of the administration of justice of our countries.

We also welcome Comparative Law essays, including those from a common law perspective, especially those who may detect the historical roots – social and political – of institutions that, on a critical dimension, can be transplanted to fertile environments of today.

The history of procedural law, be it in the perception of our culture or on the formation of an environment in which a particular institute flourished, is imperative for Latin America to develop an original and genuine Law in line with their real needs.

This is not to say that the Journal is not fit for good analyzes of the new statutes and procedural law codes and, especially, those essays that, not conformed to the normative fabric, propose reforms, urging new methods and other solutions.

There will be a place for all contributions, as the Journal ventures to set aside his initial aspect, in which there was only one single session. The Journal will have, from now on, the classic section of “Doctrine”, but also the sections of “Process, Culture and History”, “Proposals for Reform”, “Observatory of Supreme Courts”, “Bibliography”, “Meetings” and “Posthumous tributes”. The “Observatory” section comments decisions held by the Supreme Courts regarding procedural law issues and other matters that may affect its comprehension. The “Bibliography” section considers the works of procedural experts, especially Iberoamerican, emphasizing its peculiarities for the development of the law. “Meetings” reports on national and international conferences, bringing information about the participation and discussions.

From these contents, the Journal will feature two annual volumes and shall have, in addition to a printed version, a digital format, which will facilitate the circulation of studies and reports, which may be published in Spanish or Portuguese.

I thank the Publisher Thomson Reuters for the reception of this project, hoping that the Journal be instituted as an important tool for the dissemination of ideas and continue to serve as fuel for international research and discussion.

Luiz Guilherme Marinoni – Editor-in-Chief



Eduardo Oteiza

Ramiro Bejarano Guzmán

Luiz Guilherme Marinoni


I) Mexico, Central America and Caribbean
Carina Gómez
Rubén Elías Rodríguez

II) Colombia and Venezuela
Rodrigo Rivera Morales
Ángela Buitrago

III) Brazil
Teresa Arruda Alvim Wambier
Paulo Lucon

IV) Peru, Chile, Ecuador and Bolivia
José Pedro Silva Prada
Omar Sumaria

V) Spain and Portugal
Lorenzo Bujosa
Joan Picó i Junoy

VI) Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay
Santiago Pereira Campos
Jorge Walter Peyrano

Editor-in-Chief: Luiz Guilherme Marinoni

Ex Editors in Chief: Juan Monroy Gálvez, Roberto Omar Berizonce

Consultive Board – Honorary Presidents: Augusto Mario Morello (†), José Carlos Barbosa Moreira, Roberto Omar Berizonce, Jairo Parra Quijano, Raúl Tavolari Oliveros, Ángel Landoni Sosa.

Scientific Board: Ada Pellegrini Grinover (Brazil), Adolfo Alvarado Velloso (Argentina), Aristides Rengel-Romberg (Venezuela), Cândido Rangel Dinamarco (Brazil), Carlos M. Ferreira da Silva (Portugal) Carlos Parodi Remón (Peru), Carlos Pecchi Croce (†) (Chile), Cipriano Gómez Lara (†) (Mexico), Daniel González Álvarez (Costa Rica); Enrique Manuel Falcón (Argentina), Francisco Ramos Méndez (Spain), Germán R. Peters Arzabe (Bolivia), Gonzalo Armienta Calderón (†) (Mexico), Hernán Fabio López Blanco (Colombia), Hugo Allen (Paraguay), Jaime Greif (Uruguay), Jorge Fábrega P. (Panama), José Almagro Nosete (Spain), José Luis Vázquez Sotelo (Spain), José M. de Arruda Alvim Neto (Brazil), José Ovalle Favela (Mexico), Juan Monroy Galvez (Peru), Juan Montero Aroca (Spain), Julio B. Maier (Argentina), Mario Aguirre Godoy (Guatemala), Mariolga Quintero Tirado (†) (Venezuela), Mauro R. Chacón Corado (Guatemala), Miguel Teixeira Ferreira de Sousa (Portugal), Nelson Ramírez Jiménez (Peru), Paula Costa e Silva (Portugal), Olman Arguedas Salazar (Costa Rica), Rodolfo Duarte Pedro (Paraguay), Victor Fairén Guillén (†) (Spain).

Assistant-Editorship: Álvaro Perez Ragone (Chile), Daniel Mitidiero (Brazil), Francisco Verbic (Argentina), Gabriel Valentin (Uruguay), Giovanni Priori Posada (Peru), Henry Sanabria Santos (Colombia), Hugo Contreras Lamadrid (Mexico), José Martín Pastor (Spain), Sérgio Cruz Arenhart (Brazil).